http://www.julielab.de

Visit us on GitHub

http://www.uni-jena.de

© 2018 JULIE Lab

JULIE Lab

About | News | Projects | Staff | Students | Resources | Jobs | Contact | Imprint

ECONLP 2019 – 2nd Workshop on Economics and Natural Language Processing

Description

After the successful launch of the Workshop on Economics and Natural Language Processing (ECONLP) @ ACL 2018 in Melbourne, Australia (http://aclweb.org/anthology/W18-31), a follow-up event is proposed for 2019 at one of our major conference events. This workshop addresses the increasing relevance of natural language processing (NLP) for regional, national and international economy, both in terms of already operational language technology products and systems, as well as newly emerging methodologies and techniques reflecting the requirements at the intersection of economics and NLP. The focus of the workshop will be on the many ways, how NLP influences business relations and procedures, economic transactions, and the roles of human and computational actors involved in commercial activities. Papers submitted to this workshop should address (not excluding other topic areas of relevance for the workshop theme):

Organizers

Organizer Institution E-Mail
Udo Hahn Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany udo.hahn@uni-jena.de
Véronique Hoste Ghent University, Belgium veronique.hoste@ugent.be
Zhu (Drew) Zhang Iowa State University, USA zhuzhang@iastate.edu

Organizers’ Research Interests, Areas of Expertise, and Experience in Organizing Workshops

Program Committee [invited: 30, accepted: 26 (87%), pending: 4 (13%)] Institution E-Mail
Sven Büchel FSU Jena, Jena, Germany sven.buechel@uni-jena.de
Erik Cambria Nanyang Technological U, Singapore cambria@ntu.edu.sg
Hsin-Hsi Chen National Taiwan U, Taipei City, Taiwan hhchen@ntu.edu.tw
Paulo Cortez U of Minho, Guimarães, Portugal pcortez@dsi.uminho.pt
Sanjiv Ranjan Das Santa Clara U, Santa Clara, CA, USA srdas@scu.edu
Brian Davis Maynooth U, Maynooth, Ireland brian.davis@mu.ie
Xiao Ding (pending) Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, Weihai, Shenzhen, China xding@ir.hit.edu.cn
Flavius Frasincar Erasmus U, Rotterdam, Netherlands frasincar@ese.eur.nl
Keiichi Goshima (pending) Bank of Japan, Tokyo, Japan keiichi.goshima@boj.or.jp
Petr Hájek U of Pardubice, Pardubice, Czech Republic Petr.Hajek@upce.cz
Allan Hanbury TU Wien, Wien, Austria Hanbury@ifs.tuwien.ac.at
Qing Li Southwestern U of Finance and Economics (SWUFE), Sichuan, Chengdu, China liq_t@swufe.edu.cn
Pekka Malo Aalto U, Aalto , Finland pekka.malo@aalto.fi
Julian J. McAuley U of California San Diego (UCSD), San Diego, CA, USA jmcauley@ucsd.edu
Igor Mozetič Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia Igor.Mozetic@ijs.si
Viktor Pekar Aston U, Birmingham, UK v.pekar@aston.ac.uk
Nicolas Pröllochs (pending) U of Oxford, Oxford, UK nicolas.prollochs@eng.ox.ac.uk
Minghui Qiu (pending) Alibaba Group, Hangzhou, China minghui.qmh@alibaba-inc.com
Paul Rayson Lancaster U, Lancaster, UK p.rayson@lancaster.ac.uk
Samuel Rönnqvist U of Turku, Turku, Finland saanro@utu.fi
Sameena Shah S&P Global Ratings, New York City, NY, USA sameenashah@yahoo.com
Kiyoaki Shirai Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Nomi, Japan kshirai@jaist.ac.jp
Padmini Srinivasan U of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA padmini-srinivasan@uiowa.edu
Amanda Stent Bloomberg LP, New York City, NY, USA astent@bloomberg.net
Heiner Stuckenschmidt U Mannheim, Mannheim, Germany heiner@informatik.uni-mannheim.de
Ming-Feng Tsai National Chengchi U, Taipei City, Taiwan mftsai@nccu.edu.tw
Chuan-Ju Wang Academia Sinica, Taipei City, Taiwan cjwang@citi.sinica.edu.tw
Wlodek W. Zadrozny UNC Charlotte, Charlotte, NC, USA wzadrozn@uncc.edu
Manel Zarrouk National U of Ireland, Galway, Ireland Manel.Zarrouk@insight-centre.org
Ming Zhou Microsoft Asia Research, Beijing, China mingzhou@microsoft.com

Estimated number of submissions: 30 papers

Invited speakers: dependent on funding, funding initiatives are on-going

Efforts made to ensure demographic diversity of the organizers:

Estimated audience: 30-50 attendees

Shared Task: planned for ECONLP 2020 (negotiations will be made @ ECONLP 2019 with people who have already signaled interest in organizing a ST)

Technical equipment needed: WLAN, projection device

Preferred venue:

(1) ACL 2019

(2) EMNLP-IJCNLP 2019

(3) NAACL-HLT 2019

Previous ECONLP workshops: 1st ECONLP 2018 Workshop @ ACL 2018, Melbourne, Australia (http://aclweb.org/anthology/W18-31)

a. Submissions received: 16

b. Papers accepted: 8 [2 (long), 6 (short)]

c. Number of attendees: 25-30


Visit us on GitHub

http://www.uni-jena.de

© 2018 JULIE Lab