http://www.julielab.de

Visit us on GitHub

http://www.uni-jena.de

© 2018 JULIE Lab

JULIE Lab

About | News | Projects | Staff | Students | Resources | Jobs | Contact | Imprint

ECONLP 2018 – 1st Workshop on Economics and Natural Language Processing

@ ACL 2018, Melbourne, Australia, July 20, 2018
ECONLP 2018 - Workshop Description V07, PDF 395KB, Update: 2018-07-05

Workshop Programme

09:00–09:30

Introduction to the ECONLP Workshop
Udo Hahn

09:30–10:00

Economic Event Detection in Company-Specific News Text
Gilles Jacobs, Els Lefever and Véronique Hoste

10:00–10:30

Causality Analysis of Twitter Sentiments and Stock Market Returns
Narges Tabari, Piyusha Biswas, Bhanu Praneeth, Armin Seyeditabari, Mirsad Hadzikadic and Wlodek Zadrozny

10:30–11:00

Morning Coffee Break

11:00–11:20

A Corpus of Corporate Annual and Social Responsibility Reports: 280 Million Tokens of Balanced Organizational Writing
Sebastian G.M. Händschke, Sven Buechel, Jan Goldenstein, Philipp Poschmann, Tinghui Duan, Peter Walgenbach and Udo Hahn

11:20–11:40

Word Embeddings-Based Uncertainty Detection in Financial Disclosures
Christoph Kilian Theil, Sanja Štajner and Heiner Stuckenschmidt

11:40–12:00

A Simple End-to-End Question Answering Model for Product Information
Tuan Lai, Trung Bui, Sheng Li and Nedim Lipka

12:00–14:00

Lunch Break

14:00–14:20

Sentence Classification for Investment Rules Detection
Youness Mansar and Sira Ferradans

14:20–14:40

Leveraging News Sentiment to Improve Microblog Sentiment Classification in the Financial Domain
Tobias Daudert, Paul Buitelaar and Sapna Negi

14:40–15:00

Implicit and Explicit Aspect Extraction in Financial Microblogs
Thomas Gaillat, Bernardo Stearns, Gopal Sridhar, Ross McDermott, Manel Zarrouk and Brian Davis

15:00–15:20

Unsupervised Word Influencer Networks from News Streams
Ananth Balashankar, Sunandan Chakraborty and Lakshminarayanan Subramanian

15:30–16:00

Afternoon Coffee Break

16:00–16:30

Discussion and Wrap-up

16:30–17:30

Poster Session - All of the Papers Presented at the Workshop

Comitees

origin

Organizer Institution E-Mail
Udo Hahn (chair) Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany udo.hahn@uni-jena.de
Ming-Feng Tsai National Chengchi University, Taiwan mftsai@nccu.edu.tw
Véronique Hoste Ghent University, Belgium veronique.hoste@ugent.be
Program Comittee Institition E-Mail
Sven Buechel FSU Jena, Germany sven.buechel@uni-jena.de
Erik Cambria Nanyang Technological U, Singapore cambria@ntu.edu.sg
Philipp Cimiano U Bielefeld, Germany cimiano@cit-ec.uni-bielefeld.de
Xiao Ding Harbin Institute of Technology, China xding@ir.hit.edu.cn
Junwen Duan Harbin Institute of Technology, China jwduan@ir.hit.edu.cn
Flavius Frasincar Erasmus U Rotterdam,The Netherlands frasincar@ese.eur.nl
Petr Hájek U Pardubice, Czech Republic Petr.Hajek@upce.cz
Allan Hanbury TU Wien, Austria Hanbury@ifs.tuwien.ac.at
Pekka Malo Aalto U, Finland pekka.malo@aalto.fi
Viktor Pekar U Birmingham, UK v.pekar@bham.ac.uk
Paul Rayson Lancaster U, UK p.rayson@lancaster.ac.uk
Samuel Rönnqvist Åbo Akademi U, Turku, Finland sronnqvi@abo.fi
Kiyoaki Shirai Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Japan kshirai@jaist.ac.jp
Padmini Srinivasan U of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA padmini-srinivasan@uiowa.edu
Chuan-Ju Wang Academia Sinica, Taiwan cjwang@citi.sinica.edu.tw
Yue Zhang Singapore U of Technology and Design, Singapore yue_zhang@sutd.edu.sg

Description

The workshop addresses the increasing relevance of natural language processing (NLP) for regional, national and international economy, both in terms of already launched language technology products and systems, as well as new methodologies and techniques emerging in interaction with the paradigm of Computational Social Science. The focus of the workshop is on the many ways, how NLP alters business relations and procedures, economic transactions, and the roles of human and computational actors involved in commercial activities.

Papers submitted to this workshop should address (not excluding other topic areas of relevance for the workshop theme):

Submission information

Two types of papers are solicited: Long papers (8 pages) should describe solid results with strong experimental, empirical or theoretical/formal backing, short papers (4 pages) should describe work in progress where preliminary results have already been worked out. Accepted papers will appear in the workshop proceedings. All papers are allowed unlimited but sensible pages for references. Final camera-ready versions will be allowed an additional page of content to address reviewers’ comments. All submissions should be in PDF format (using ACL 2018 style sheets for the main conference; see ACL 2018 style sheets at current CfP and made through the Softconf website set up for this workshop (softconf ACL2018 ECONLP).

Key Dates (several extensions)

Deadline for paper submission: 24 April 2018 (at 11:59 p.m., anywhere on Earth (UTC -12))

Notification of acceptance: 20 May 2018

Camera-ready version due: 3 June 2018

Workshop: 20 July 2018

Visit us on GitHub

http://www.uni-jena.de

© 2018 JULIE Lab